Felt Advent Calendar

Felt Advent Calendar | Red Circle Crafts

I’ve finally finished an advent calendar and just in time, too. I was sewing the hangers onto these ornaments last night. And finished photographing this today!

Felt Advent Calendar | Red Circle Crafts

I love advent calendars and have since I was little. But I wanted one that I could use year after year without needing to purchase or make anything every year.  I was inspired by this advent calendar from The Sugar House Shop (pattern available for purchase).

Felt Advent Calendar | Red Circle Crafts

The reindeer head is a silhouette I liked the look of, found through a google search and modified slightly to fit. After sewing the whole head and antlers on by hand, I sewed in small brown seed beads to use as hangers for the ornaments.

Felt Advent Calendar | Red Circle CraftsFelt Advent Calendar | Red Circle Crafts

The pockets are made from the same white felt as the background with numbers embroidered on to each pocket. I just took a water-dissolving pen and wrote numbers on each pocket space (before sewing it in place) and then embroidered (using a back stitch) the numbers.

Felt Advent Calendar | Red Circle Crafts

The tiny felt ornaments are entirely hand-drawn patterns made to fit in the tiny pockets.

Here’s a list of plushies and felt ornaments that inspired these:

Bear & Owl
Vintage Glass Ornaments
Dala Horse
Rudolph & Santa
Yeti
Tree

I’m looking forward to putting up one ornament every day until Christmas, seeing the reindeer fill up with bright baubles.

Felt Advent Calendar | Red Circle Crafts

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Felt Advent Calendar

  1. inDIYan December 28, 2015 at 1:12 am Reply

    Brilliant! I’d love to nominate you for a Liebster Award! The Liebster Award is a way for bloggers to acknowledge other bloggers, cross promote, and connect with members of the blogging community. The participation guidelines are in my post: https://thediyindian.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/liebster-award/
    I look forward to reading more posts from your blog!

    • Karen Goetsch December 28, 2015 at 9:23 am Reply

      Thanks for the nomination!

Leave a Reply

